Waiting on Wednesday: June 17

Title: Betraying Season
Author: Marissa Doyle
Series: Leland Sisters, book 2
US Release date: September 29, 2009 (unfortunately bumped - originally it was supposed to be released this past May)

Summary (from Marissa Doyle's website): Penelope Leland has come to Ireland to study magic and prove to herself that she is as good a witch as her twin sister Persy. But when Niall Keating begins to pay her court, she can’t help being distracted from her studies. Especially when she learns that the handsome young nobleman is reputedly an illegitimate cousin of the new young Queen Victoria, her friend and idol, whom her sister saved from an ambitious wizard’s control spell the year before. Niall Keating has strict orders from his sorceress mother Lady Keating: to make young Miss Leland fall in love with him so that she can be convinced to use her magical powers to help reconcile him to his true father, the Duke of Cumberland, Queen Victoria’s uncle. Niall is delighted to comply until he discovers his mother’s true aim: to assassinate Queen Victoria by magic and put Niall’s father on the throne of England. Penelope is thrilled when Lady Keating reveals her powers and offers to tutor her in magic. But Niall has fallen deeply in love with the lovely young woman. Even if he halts his mother’s evil plans, will Penelope be able to forgive him for trying to seduce her into a plot against her beloved queen?

Why I'm interested: After reading Bewitching Season, I couldn't wait to see what would come for the Leland sisters. I love how Marissa Doyle mixes a bit of historical fact with fantasy as it's great to see my two favorite genres come together in one work. Plus, a bit of romance never hurts, and isn't the cover gorgeous?
P.S. Check out a note from Marissa about the history behind this book here.

No comments:

Post a Comment